Purdue Libraries Purdue University Purdue Libraries

Finding Chemical Company and Industry Information

Company Information

Industry Information

Chemical Suppliers, Catalogs, and Pricing

 


Company Information

Search for chemical company news

Business and Company Resource Center
Information and news on companies and industries is available.

Busines Source Premier
Magazines and journals in the fields of business and management.

LexisNexis Academic
From the top red menu bar, select "News," then "Business News Publications" from the Select Sources option. If you click on Add Index Terms, you can select particular industries, subjects, and regions. Other Select Sources choices may be appropriate at well.

Factiva
Business news and articles, current company and stock information, and the Wall Street Journal full-text.  Large selection of international newspapers and business publications.


Information on specific companies

Business and Company Resource Center
Information and news on companies and industries is available. Also included are sections on market share, company histories and financials , and statistics.

Busines Source Premier
Business magazines & journals; company profiles and SWOT analysis ; industry reports ; market research reports.

Reference USA
Listings of 14 million U.S. Companies. Data includes contact information, number of employees, type of business, headquarter/branch Identifiers and more. Also search for other companies close to a particular company.

MarketLine Business Information Center
Provides Company, Country and Industry Profiles, including profiles for over 27,000 companies, domestic and international. Can also browse companies by industry, geography, number of employees, and annual revenue.

Plunkett's Research Online
Industry and company profiles. Contains "Chemicals, Coatings and Plastics" section.

Vault
Industry overviews and outlook, details on career path, salary ranges . Also Industry Career Guides, Employer Guides, and Industry message boards. Also includes results from company and occupation surveys.

FAQ on finding company information - provided by the Management and Economics Library, Purdue University


Industry Information

Search for chemical industry news

Business and Company Resource Center
Information and news on companies and industries is available.

Busines Source Premier
Magazines and journals in the fields of business and management.

LexisNexis Academic
From the top red menu bar, select "News," then "Business News Publications" from the Select Sources option. If you click on Add Index Terms, you can select particular industries, subjects, and regions. Other Select Sources choices may be appropriate at well.

Factiva
Business news and articles, current company and stock information, and the Wall Street Journal full-text.  Large selection of international newspapers and business publications.


Important chemical trade journals/magazines

Chemical and Engineering News
Weekly news magazine of the American Chemical Society. No regular chemical pricing data is included, but C&EN publishes regularly themed issues such as:

Chemical Engineering (Engineering Library: 660.5 C392)
CE is the most important U.S. trade magazine covering the Chemical Engineering industry. Each month CE updates various cost indexes vital for estimation purposes: Marshall & Swift, CE Plant Cost Index, Vatavuk Air Pollution Control Cost Index.

Chemical Week (Engineering Library: 660.5 C42)
Full text available online via Business Source Premier (see below). CW also publishes the annual Buyers' Guide . Each issue of this journal contains the CW Price Report listing prices for a few key chemicals on both the U.S. and European markets.

ICIS Chemical Business Americas (Engineering Library: 615.05 Oi5 ; formerly Chemical Market Reporter)


Industry overviews and statistics

Business and Company Resource Center
Information and news on companies and industries is available. Also included are sections on market share, industry overviews, related associations, rankings, and investment reports.

Busines Source Premier
Business magazines & journals; industry reports ; market research reports ; company profiles.

MarketLine Business Information Center
Provides Company, Country and Industry Profiles, including profiles for over 2,600 industries, domestic and international. Can also browse industries by category and sub-categories. Useful industries profiled include agrochemicals, basic inorganic chemicals, basic organic chemicals, commodity chemicals, diversified chemicals, and pharmaceuticals.

Global Market Information Database
Provides international analysis of various industries:

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage Industry Surveys
Standard & Poor's investment information and analysis on companies, industries, stocks and bonds, mutual funds and dividends. 

U.S. Census Current Industrial Reports
Government data on production and shipment of important products and commodities. Chemical manufacturing related areas include:

LexisNexis Statistical
Provides indexing and abstracts for federal, state, and international statistical publications as well as selected business and professional publications containing statistics.

TableBase
Search tabular data on companies, industries, products, and demographics.  

FAQ on finding industry information - provided by the Management and Economics Library, Purdue University


Classification systems for industries

SIC Manual
Online, searchable version of the Standard Industrial Classification Manua l , 1987 .

SIC Code & NAICS Code Conversion Tables
Online comparison between the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual and the 1997 North American Industrial Classification System.


Chemical Suppliers, Catalogs, and Pricing

Search for a chemical supplier

CHEMCATS (in SciFinder Scholar)
Selected substance records in the REGISTRY database link to CHEMCATS, a database of chemical suppliers. When searching chemical compounds, look for the bottle icon.

Chem Sources Online
Search by name/tradename, CAS Registry #, formula, application or supplier. Does not contain pricing information.

ChemExper Chemical Directory
Contains information on 200,000 different chemicals from suppliers all over the world.

Chemical Engineering Buyers' Guide
Browse by type of service/product such as Process Chemicals, or search by company name, product name, or tradename. Registration required.

Chemical Week Buyers' Guide
Browse by type of service/product, or search by supplier, product, tradenames, state, or country.

eMolecules
Instantly search over 5.6 million unique chemical structures from more than 140 leading chemical suppliers, including Acros, ASINEX, ChemBridge, ChemDiv, Comgenex, Enamine, Fluka, Key Organics, Life Chemicals, Maybridge, Otava, Sigma-Aldrich, Specs, and others.

ICIS Search
Searchable database of chemical products and suppliers, from the publisher of ICIS Chemical Business Americas .

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Searchable electronic directory of products, services, and companies in the United States. Contains some chemical manufacturers as well as those who manufacture lab equipment.

WWW Chemicals
Search catalogs and directories for laboratory and bulk chemicals or equipment.


Major laboratory chemical suppliers

Alfa Aesar
Over 27,000 specialty and bulk, high purity inorganics, precious metal compounds, rare earths, organics and organometallics, and high purity metals and materials.

Fisher Scientific
Another major supplier of chemical and reagents for laboratory use.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number and more. Also contains some chemical/physical property information, FT-IR and NMR spectra, and MSDS. Registration is required to view some information .

TCI America
Provider of laboratory chemicals, fine and specialty chemicals, and custom synthesized compounds. Also includes links to the spectral information from SDBS.


Chemical pricing information

Many of the above links contain pricing information from various suppliers. If not, then direct quotes, especially when bulk amounts are needed, may be required. Chemical pricing information is often difficult to find.

ICIS has posted the August 28, 2006, bulk chemicals price list (the last one before the list was narrowed) on its ICIS Students website. This list can be used as a basic guide, but remember that it is no longer current or updated. Currently Purdue does not have access to the most recent pricing information from ICIS. Chemical Profiles are also available from the Innovation Group, though the data is not always current.

U.S. Petroleum Prices (DOE)
Current and historical prices for crude oil, gasoline, heating oil, diesel fuel, and propane, along with analysis and updates.

Last update: March 27, 2008

Send your comments to chemlib@purdue.edu