Subject Guide

This page lists resources that you can generally find within the Chemistry Library. However, it does not mean that if you can not find what you need on this page, you are out of luck. The Resources page gives you more information on specific resources and databases. You may also find that other libraries at Purdue University have exactly what you want. Remember to always check the library catalog for all holdings on campus.

Acid Dissociation Constants
Applied Chemistry
Biography
CAS, Beilstein, Merck numbers
Chemicals
Citrus/Spices Components
Electronic Journals
Elements

Functional Groups
Graduate Schools
IR
MSDS
Name Reactions
NMR
Nobel Prize Information
Patents

Periodic Tables
Physical Properties
Review Articles
Safety Hazards
Standard Methods
Synonyms
UV
Writing

ACID DISSOCIATION CONSTANTS (Ka and pKa)

APPLIED CHEMISTRY

Biography

CAS#, BEILSTEIN#, MERCK#

CHEMICALS

CITRUS/SPICES COMPONENTS

ELEMENTS

FUNCTIONAL GROUPS

  • Any of the general organic chemistry books on reserve should have structures of functional groups
  • Comprehensive organic transformations : a guide to functional group preparations - Richard C. Larock (reserve 547.2 L327c 1999)

GRADUATE SCHOOLS

IR

Online Databases to Search for Spectra:

Print Resources:

Tutorials and Other Web Sites:

NAME REACTIONS

NMR

     Other NMR Links

NOBEL PRIZE INFORMATION 

PATENTS

PERIODIC TABLES

PHYSICAL PROPERTIES

SAFETY HAZARDS and MSDS

  • CCOHS Occupational Health and Safety Databases - This collection of databases is a tool for environmental and occupational health and safety and contains a wealth of data and information on various chemicals. This program includes MSDS, FTSS, CHEMINFO, RTECS®, Canadiana,CISILO, HSELINE, OSHLINE® with NIOSHTIC®/NIOSHTIC-2, and as well as several free resources.
  • Cataloged MSDS Sheets at Purdue University
  • TOXNET - TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. See Fact Sheet for database details.
    • HSDB® (Hazardous Substances Data Bank) - A factual database focusing on the toxicology of over 5,000 potentially hazardous chemicals. In addition to toxicity data, HSDB provides information in the areas of emergency handling procedures, industrial hygiene, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory requirements. The data are fully referenced and peer-reviewed by a Scientific Review Panel composed of expert scientists.
    • CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System) - A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced data bank, developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.
  • NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
  • Household Products Database
  • CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
  • Collection of e-books on Industrial Safety and Hygiene on Knovel

STANDARD METHODS

  • Vogel's textbook of quantitative chemical analysis (reserves 545 V86t 1989)

SYNONYMS FOR COMPOUNDS

UV

  • The Sadtler handbook of ultraviolet spectra (reference 535.844 Sa15h)
  • Organic Electronic Spectral Data (reference 535.844 Or14)
  • Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra (reference 016.5353 H43u)
  • Handbook of Ultraviolet Methods

WRITING

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

click to start chat