Subject Guide
This page lists resources that you can generally find within the Chemistry Library. However, it does not mean that if you can not find what you need on this page, you are out of luck. The Resources page gives you more information on specific resources and databases. You may also find that other libraries at Purdue University have exactly what you want. Remember to always check the library catalog for all holdings on campus.
ACID DISSOCIATION CONSTANTS (Ka and pKa)
- The Merck Index (ready reference) - also available as an electronic database
- Quantitative chemical analysis (Appendix G); for strong acid, turn to page 108.
- IUPAC - provides Critical Stability Constants 541.392 M361c
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (ready reference)
APPLIED CHEMISTRY
- Kirk-Othmer : Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (reference area 660.3 En19)
Biography
- Check the databases from Gale Group. http://galenet.gale.com/
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (ready reference)
- The Merck Index (ready reference) - also available as an electronic database
- Aldrich (ready reference)
- Beilstein is available as an electronic database
CHEMICALS
- Which
company makes a chemical?
Chem Sources USA - How is
a chemical is produced?
Kirk-Othmer : Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (reference area 660.3 En19)
- The Merck Index (ready reference) - also available as an electronic database
- Essential oils: Kirk-Othmer - Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (reference area 660.3 En19)
- The Elements (reference area 546 Em84e 1991)
- Chemistry of the Elements
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (section 4: Properties of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds) (reserve and ready reference)
FUNCTIONAL GROUPS
- Any of the general organic chemistry books on reserve should have structures of functional groups
- Comprehensive organic transformations : a guide to functional group preparations - Richard C. Larock (reserve 547.2 L327c 1999)
GRADUATE SCHOOLS
- ACS Directory of Graduate Research
- Planning for Graduate Work in Chemistry from the ACS
- 20 Relevant Questions to ask Graduate Schools, Departments, and Programs
- Knowing everything that you know now, what advice would you give others entering or in the early years of graduate school?
Online Databases to Search for Spectra:
- NIST WebBook
- SDBS: Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
- Sigma Aldrich Catalog Database contains spectra for select products
- Chemexper.com contains a number of IR and NMR spectra of commercially available compounds
- Beilstein is available as an electronic database
Print Resources:
- Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra (reference area)
- Sadtler standard spectra (reference area)
- Tables of spectral data for structure determination of organic compounds
- Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts
Tutorials and Other Web Sites:
- Find Authentic Chemical Spectra (IR, NMR, UV) in the Purdue University Libraries
- Infrared Spectroscopy for Organic Chemists Web Resources: contains links to many IR databases, including the NIST and TeleSpec
- Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis (eBook)
- Name Reactions in Heterocyclic Chemistry (eBook)
- Name Reactions : A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms (reserves 547.2 L6125n 2003)
- Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis (reserves 547.2 M923n 1988)
- Organic Name Reactions (reference 547 K867n2E)
- Start looking in the Aldrich Collection of FTNMR spectra. The indexes are in volume 3.
- If Aldrich does not have a spectrum, try using the Sadtler Indexes (green - in the Reference section).
- Beilstein, available as an electronic database
- E-Book: The Basics of NMR by Joseph P. Hornak
Other NMR Links
- Find Authentic Chemical Spectra (IR, NMR, UV) in the Purdue University Libraries
- NMR Services Solution and Solid State This site is a treasure trove of NMR information.It contains links to NMR databases as well as a "Proton NMR Spectral Viewer"
- BioMagResBank This is a large database of biomolecular NMR spectroscopy
NOBEL PRIZE INFORMATION
-
The
Nobel foundation: http://www.nobel.se
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases (Full text, 1790- )
- Esp@cenet - European Patent Information
- Purdue Engineering Library has U.S. Patents on DVD and CD-ROM from 1790 -- 1938, 1994 --; and on Microfilm from 1950)
- SciFinder Scholar includes chemical patents when you search.
- Community of Science - Search U.S. Patents
PERIODIC TABLES
- Inside the front cover of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (ready reference)
- Inside the front or back cover of any of the introductory analytical chemistry textbook (like Skoog and West)
- Periodic Table--Web Elements
- The Pictoral Periodic Table A periodic table listing the element's masses, halflives, decay products, and isotopic masses
- Aldrich (ready reference)
- Beilstein is available as an electronic database
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (ready reference)
- Kirk-Othmer : Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (reference)
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (reserves)
- The Merck Index (ready reference) - also available as an electronic database
- ChemFinder
- NIST WebBook
- Dissociation Constants of Organic Bases in Aqueous Solution
- MSDS Search from SetonResourceCenter.com - Search over 350,000 MSDSs
- Cataloged MSDS Sheets at Purdue University
- NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
- Oxford University Chemical Safety Information A site that lists the MSDS's available from the Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Laboratory at Oxford.
- The University of Akron Hazardous Chemical Database A site listing information on many hazardous chemicals.
STANDARD METHODS
- Vogel's textbook of quantitative chemical analysis (reserves 545 V86t 1989)
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (ready reference)
- The Merck Index (ready reference) - also available as an electronic database
- ChemFinder
UV
- The Sadtler handbook of ultraviolet spectra (reference 535.844 Sa15h)
- Organic Electronic Spectral Data (reference 535.844 Or14)
- Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra (reference 016.5353 H43u)
- Handbook of Ultraviolet Methods
- Quick Guide to Citing with the ACS Style Guide (from Penn State)
- Resources for Documenting Electronic Sources from Purdue Online Writing Lab
- ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information (3rd ed.) [Reserve 808.06654 Ac78 2006]