Selected Purdue University Library and WWW resources

Indexes and Abstracts
R 301.20
AB89
Abstracts in Anthropology. v.1- 1970-

International coverage in the areas of archaeology, cultural and physical anthropology and linguistics. Published in eight issues annually. This is the major abstract in the field that is available here in the Purdue Libraries.
Purdue University Libraries Catalog America: History & Life

This database indexes articles concerning the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 450,000 bibliographic entries, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals, including those concerned with North American archaeology, published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals.
Purdue University Libraries Catalog GeoRef

GeoRef, the premier database from the American Geological Institute, is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. To maintain the database, GeoRef regularly scans more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. Each month between 6,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.
Purdue University Libraries Catalog Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

Purdue University Libraries Catalog

Web of Science

(Combines Science Citation Index Expanded,  Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)

Web of Science includes Arts &
Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social
Sciences Citation Index. Collectively, these indexes cover 8,700
scholarly and technical journals completely and 13,300 selectively, in
more than 230 disciplines. The Web of Science gateway allows searching
the indexes singly or in combination. Features include cited reference
searching, access to records related to a particular article, and
number of times an article has been cited. Coverage extends back to
1977.

Purdue University Libraries Catalog OmniFile Full Text Mega (Combines Social Sciences Abstracts and Humanities Abstracts with other databases)

This database provides cover-to-cover indexing for 492 key international English language periodicals in the Social Sciences and 500 English language periodicals in the Humanities. Material include articles, review articles, scholarly replies to the literature, interviews, obituaries, and biographies in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, international relations, political science, psychology, sociology, archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. It is updated weekly with coverage from 1983 to the present. Abstracting begins with material in 1994.
Encyclopedias
 

General

R930.1
En19
2001
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries

Tim Murray (Santa Barbara: ABC CLIO, 2001).
This multi-volume work covers the history of the discipline of archaeology. The articles concern major archaeologists, methods, theories, and archaeological traditions. The articles are signed by the authors and range from a few paragraphs to several pages. Many articles contain extensive bibliograohies. Illustrations, maps, and photographs abound.
930.103
En19
2001
Encyclopedia of Prehistory

Peter N. Peregrine and Melvin Ember (New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 2001).
This is a nine volume work. Each volume covers a continent like Africa or region of the world, such as Arctic and Subarctic. The encyclopedia is an attempt to provide basic information on all known archaeological cultures through the world as well as all time periods. The authors of the articles are generally recognized experts in the particular culture area and time period. There are three types of entries: major tradition, regional subtradition, and a specific site. There is a uniform structure to each article to assist in cross-cultural analysis. Bibliographies follow each article and each volume ends with an index.
 
Regional
R970.0103
Ar22 1998
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America: An Encyclopedia

(New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1998).
Over two hundred scholars contributed to this work. The articles range from a few paragraphs to several pages. Each are signed, photographs, maps, timelines, illustrations and a list of further readings accompany many of the articles. The articles contain information on archaeological sites, cultures, artifacts, and important archaeologists.
R960.03
P146e
2001

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture

(ed. Willie F. Page) New York: Facts on File, INc., 2001
This is a three volume work.  The first volume covers ancient Africa up
to 500 CE.  The alphabetically arranged entries are short and cover a
wide range of topics.  There are photographs, illustrations, and maps
for some of the most important topics.  Volume two covers African
kingdoms from 500 to 1500 CE and volume three covers conquest to
colonization 1500 to 1850 CE.  Each volume contains an a time line,
glossary, suggested readings, and an index.

R959.103
H537e
2004

Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations

(ed. Charles F.W. Higham) New York: Facts on File, 2004.
This one volume encyclopedia is contains short articles on topics such
as early cultures, languages, archaeological sites, rulers and leaders,
and religions.  The work also conatins, maps, photographs, a chronology,
bibliography, and index.

R960.2
En19
Encyclopedia of Pre-colonial Africa

Joseph O. Vogel and Jean Vogel (Walnut Creek, California: Alta Mira Press, 1997).
This single volume work contains extensive articles of over eighty contributors. It begins with a lengthy overview of continental environments and then an that concerns the history of archaeological research in Africa. Other sections include articles on technologies; such as, pottery making, cultures; such as East African foragers, and African prehistory; such as Saharan rock art.
R 932
Ox2 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

Donald B. Redford (New York: Oxford University Press, 2001).
An extensive three volume work that covers the prehistoric, pre dynastic, and dynastic phases of cultural development in the Nile Valley up to the Islam conquests of 642 AD The articles are lengthy, signed, and are often accompanied with maps and illustrations. Each is followed by bibliographies.
R939.4
Ox2 1997
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East

Eric M. Meyers (New York: Oxford University Press, 1997).
This is a five volume work containing lengthy signed articles each with a bibliography for further reading. Articles concern a wide variety of topics such as biographies of important scholars, archaeological sites, specific sub-fields like Biblical Archaeology, extinct cultures and nations, languages and writing systems, etc.
972.01
Ox2 2001

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

Davíd Carrasco (New York: Oxford University Press, 2001).This three volume work concerns the culture area that falls within the southern two-thirds of Mexico and south into Costa Rica. This three volume work contains numerous articles that deal with the numerous cultures, languages, material culture, religions, art, history, etc. of the area. The articles can be over four pages in length and end with bibliographies to help the student interested in further study. The over three hundred contributors wrote the articles and their names are at the end of each article. Volume three contains the index for the work.
R959.003
So88
2004

Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor

(ed. Ooi Keat Gin) Santa Barbara, California: ABC CLIO, 2004.
 The three volume encyclopedia consists of alaphetically arranged entries
some which are several pages in length.  Each entry is follwed by see
also notations and references.  Topics include such things as
archaeological sites, cultures, rulers, political movements, colonies,
and historical events.  Each entry is followed by the author's name.
Volume one has an extensive introduction of 109 pages.  Appendices of
maps and country facts table, a topic finder, a chronology, a
bibliography, a list of contributors, and an index.

Dictionaries
930.103
C697
Collins Dictionary of Archaeology

Paul Bahn (Santa Barbara, California: ABC-CLIO, 1993).
This dictionary is international in scope and is the product of sixteen specialists. Most of the 1993 definitions are under four sentences. Terms in the definitions that have their own entries are in capital letters. Topics include important scholars, significant archaeological sites, artifacts, and ancient cultures.

R609.41
J728d
1996

Dictionary of Industrial Archaeology

William Jones (Stroud: Sutton Publishing Ltd., 1996).
This dictionary represents a crossing of disciplinary boundaries. Archaeology as a method is used by historians as well as those who study prehistoric cultures. Industrial Archaeology is a relatively new area of study. It began in Great Britain and covers the beginnings of the Industrial Revolution to recent times. It is arranged like the majority of dictionaries, yet some of the definitions are quite lengthy and are followed by bibliographies. Terms in the definitions that have their own entries are in capital letters. See also references and illustrations are found throughout.
Biographies

R930.
10922
En19

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists

Tim Murray (Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1999)
This two volume set contains lengthy biographies of archaeologists who made major contributions 1999 to the development of the discipline. Forty-five international scholars contributed fifty-eight biographies to this work. The entries are arranged chronologically by year of birth. Each entry ends with bibliography. Volume two ends with a glossary of terms and an index.