Databases of Interest to Physicists
INSPEC --
Comprehensive Physics Index (covers 1896-present)
older years available in print in Physics Library as Physics Abstracts
and Science Abstracts.
Compendex --
Comprehensive Engineering Index that also covers Applied Physics topics. (covers
1884-present) older years available in the Engineering Library as Engineering
Abstracts
Web of Science(Science Citation Index) --
Trace the citation history of articles, especially articles that cite a given article
(1900-present)
Web of Science Proceedings --
(Index to Scientific and Technical Proceedings)
Indexes about 10,000 sci-tech conferences a year, and
gives users access to 1.9 million papers from conference literature published
since 1990.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (be sure to select a database when you click this link) --
an index of undergraduate level science and technology articles (e.g., Scientific
American level)
ADS (Astrophysical Data System) --
NASA funded abstract service covering Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation,
Physics and Geophysics, and the Los Alamos Preprint Server. Also
provides full-text access to several Astronomy and Astrophysics journal
articles (not the current issues though).
ARIBIB (Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts) --
Online equivalent to Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts and preceeding
Astronomischer Jahresbericht, (1899-present, with gaps)
Current Contents --
Current awareness service covering many (but by no means all) physics journals.
Typically contains more up-to-date information than INSPEC (up to three
months), but only provides author, title, and journal name access to information.
MathSciNet --
Mathematical Reviews (1940-present) and Current Mathematical Publications.
WorldCat --
Most comprehensive library catalog in the world. If you cannot find what
you need at Purdue, check here. If it is not there it (probably)
does not exist.
Chem Abstracts Online --
(called SciFinder Scholar).
Preprint Servers --
Links to a selection
of major preprint servers in physics.
Federal Research and Development Project Summaries --
U.S. Government Printing Office provides database of projects funded by the NSF, DoE,
and NIH.
