Music - Databases



Meet Your Librarian

Your librarian is Matthew Bejune. Contact him with any questions or requests by email by phone: 765-494-6729.

Music Databases
  • African American Music Reference - Provides full-text reference articles, biographies, images, sheet music, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the African American experience through music. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, and other forms. 1700s - present
  • Black Studies Center - Fully cross-searchable combination of three resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender (1935-1975). varies
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online - Covers music of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a region's musical traditions and themes, descriptions of musical genres and practices. Ten volume printed set in HSSE Reference, Call Number 780.9 G183 1998 ancient-current
  • Grove Music Online - Provides direct access to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a collection of reference articles, biographies, bibliographic entries, and discographies.
  • Music Index Online - Indexes more than 725 international music periodicals covering nearly all styles and genres of music. and the music industry. References articles, book reviews, obituaries, and more. 1978-Current
  • Oxford Music Online - Provides full-text access to music reference resources. Includes over 50,000 articles, 28,000 biographies, 400,000 bibliographic entries, and thousands of discographies.