EndNote Web - Getting Started
EndNote and EndNote Web
Contact Librarians
|
Maribeth Slebodnik
|
Agriculture, Life Sciences, VetMed, Pharmacy, Nursing, Foods & Nutrition |
Jeremy Garritano |
Chemistry, Earth & Atmospheric Sci, Physics |
Robert Freeman |
Liberal Arts |
Judy Nixon |
CDFS, Education |
Hal Kirkwood |
Management, Ag Econ, HTM, CSR |
Amy Van Epps |
Math, Engineering, Technology |
Priscilla Geahigan |
Consultation by Appointments |
What is EndNote Web?
|
EndNote Web is an online citation management application that can help you to organize your research material, including journal articles, into your own online mini database. It is FREE to all Purdue users and there is no software to purchase. It is a companion product of the desktop EndNote.
|
|
EndNote Web Features
- Can import references from online sources
(For ISI Web of Science and some databases from major vendors, citations can be
exported directly into EndNote Web.)
- Can organize references in folders
(Create groups to view and manage subsets of references)
- Can view reference details
- Can share reference folders -- for collaborating with others
- Can access your EndNote Web Library from any computer with Internet connection
- Can create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles
- Can use Cite While You Write with MS Word
EndNote Web Limitations
- 10,000 citations maximum per library
- No attachments to citation records (no PDFs, images, etc.)
For more information, please visit:
http://endnoteweb.com/
Introduction to this Guide
This guide has a number of pages (see tabs above). The next few pages will try to explain the basic functions of EndNote Web. Select one of the page tabs above to see more information:
- Direct Export DBs page - This page provides a list of databases that currently can direct export citations into your EndNote Web library.
- Library Components page - This page includes a captured image of the initial introductory page for new users who log on to the http://myendnoteweb.com account. It explains the three major components and functions of an EndNote Web Library: Collect Citations, Organize Citations, and Format Bibliography.
- Import-Direct page - This page explains EndNote Web's Online Search Connection. It allows both Direct Searching from EndNote Web and Importing References. This procedure works very well with library online catalogs but, for most library users, it can connect to only a few selected online databases.
- Import-Using Filter page - This page explains the procedure to import citations from some vendors such as CSA. Direct Export procedure does not work in their databases.
- Organizing/Sharing page - This page explains how to create groups of citations by topics.
- Format-CWYW (Cite While You Write) page - This page explains how Microsoft Word, with the "Cite While You Write" Plug-in installed, can insert references, format citations, and format bibliographies while you write your paper.

For additional help, click on the help icon within your EndNote Web Library.