Finding Articles in General Databases - General Databases



These general-purpose index databases can help you get started finding magazine, journal, or newspaper articles on just about any topic. These and other more specialized indexes may be found in the Databases section of the Libraries’ website (http://www.lib.purdue.edu).
Magazines and Journals
Academic Search Premier


  • indexing and abstracting from over 8,300 magazines and journals, some dating back to 1975

    or further

  • includes full text of over 4,500 titles

  • checkbox to limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals


OmniFile Full Text Mega



  • indexing and abstracting from over 4,000 magazines and journals, dating back to 1982

  • includes full text of nearly 2,300 titles, some dating back to 1994

  • checkbox to limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

  • contains link to Purdue Libraries’ catalog to check for holdings at Purdue


Proquest Research Library



  • indexing and abstracting from over 3,800 magazines and journals, dating back to 1972

  • includes full text of over 2,600 titles

  • checkbox to limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

  • contains link to Purdue Libraries’ catalog to check for holdings at Purdue


News Sources
Newspaper Source


  • selected full text from over 375 regional U.S. newspapers and 35 national and international newspapers; full text television and radio news transcripts

  • national sources include The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, and The Washington Post

  • international sources include The Times (London), The News (Mexico), The Hong Kong iMail, and more



LexisNexis™ Academic



  • selected full text from a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information sources

  • news sources include: over 350 major English-language newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, some dating back to 1977; over 300 magazines and journals; newsletters; television and radio transcripts; campus newspapers, including the Chronicle of Higher Education; wire services; ethnic news; and more