Home
|
Libraries and Units
|
Collections
|
Library Services
|
Research Help
|
About the Libraries
|
News and Announcements
Home
>
Subject Guides
> MEL - Entrepreneurship
MEL - Entrepreneurship - CE 397/597 B
Business Plans
Portals
Associations
Technology Transfer
Statistics
Articles
CE 397/597 B
Quick Links
My Library Account
Ask a Librarian
Hours & Locations
Course Reserves
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Faculty Directory
Make a Gift
MEL Home
AskENGR
AskMEL
Open in separate window
Contact Info.
Questions, comments or suggestions...
Megan Sapp Nelson
(765) 494 - 2871
Engineering Reference Librarian
mrsapp@purdue.edu
George Bergstrom
(765) 494 - 2918
Business Reference Librarian
gbergstr@purdue.edu
The Idea: Resources
Articles and Databases
- A list of all the library databases for Engineering & Technology - notice on the left the various limiting options
CatalogXpress
- Access to catalogs or manufacturers for product and component information. Engineering and related disciplines.
Thomas Register
-
United States Patent and Trademark Office
-
The Location: Resources
Statistical Abstract of the United States
-
Census Bureau
-
Local Chambers of Commerce
-
Economic Development Corporations - Greater Lafayette Progress
-
Legal Background: Resources
State resources
-
Business Owner's Guide to State Government
-
An Entrepreneur's Guide to Starting a Business in Indiana
-
Federal Code of Regulations
-
Occupational Health and Safety Administration
-
Financial Information: Resources
Small Business Administration
-
Federal Business Opportunities
-
Angel Capital Association
-
National Venture Capital Association
-
Buy Indiana
-
The Market: Resources
BizMiner
- Find industry financial analysis and marketing research reports at the national and local level.
Census Bureau's American Fact Finder
-
MarketResearch.com Academic
- Find both current and historical information on many markets and industries.
Economic Development Corporations
-
Indiana Business Research Center
-
Stats Indiana
-
Industrial Classification
- The government site for NAICS & SIC codes.
The Competition: Resources
Lafayette-West Lafayette Chamber of Commerce
-
Bureau of Labor Statistics
-
Business and Industry Database
-
US Global Trade Outlook
-
Trade Associations Directory
-
Lexis Nexis Company Dossier
- Good for Company profiles, and analyst reports.
Marketline Business Information Center
- SWOT analysis of competitors
Ethical Issues: Resources
Occupational Health and Safety Administration
-
United States Patent and Trademark Office
-
Institute for Ethical Business Worldwide (Notre Dame)
-
Center for Responsible Business (University of California, Berkeley)
-
Government Assistance: Resources
Small Business Administration
-
Federal Business Opportunities
-
Buy Indiana
-
Entrepreneurship Business Plans
Business Plans Handbook
- Provides business articles for specific businesses. May provide actual sample business plan and financial data and/or guides to starting and operating business. Searchable by business.
Bplans
- Provides over 500 searchable sample business plans. Also advice for writing plans, marketing, advertising, growing or purchasing a business.
NEBS Business Plan Tool
- This Template is a powerful interactive tool you can use to write your own business plan in a comfortable and easy step-by-step fashion.
QuickMBA
- Presents a definition of entrepreneurship and contrasts entrepreneurship to small business. Provides a sample business plan outline that lists topics frequently covered by business plans, a business model. Provides tips for making a successful pitch to venture capitalists, including finding the right venture capital firm, building credibility, and delivering your presentation.
Entrepreneur.com- Business Plans
- www.entrepreneur.com/businessplan/index.html
Inc.com
- Provides links to entrepreneurial news and events. Provides how-to guides about many aspects of business including operations, leadership and strategy, business travel, sales, marketing, human resources, finance and capital, law and taxation, writing a business plan, customer service, and running a one-person business.
Small Business Administration: Business Plan Basics
- Provides sample business plans. Provides detailed, step-by-step guides for developing and writing a comprehensive business plan.
The Minority Business Development Agency
- Provides help guides for planning, forming, and marketing a business.