Materials Science and Engineering - General



Intro

Here are some basic, background resources for materials information.  Be sure to check out the appropriate tabs if you have specific questions.

 Dictionaries/Encylopedias 
 Handbooks   
 Finding Journal Articles  
 Datasheets  

 

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

AccessScience -- General Science and Engineering online encyclopedia and dictionary in one

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Encyclopedia of materials : science and technology  -- Engineering Library Reference: 620.1103 En195 2001

Materials handbook : an encyclopedia for managers, technical professionals, purchasing and production managers, technicians, and supervisors -- Engineering Library Reference:  620.1 B72m 2002

Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering -- Engineering Library Reference:  610.2803 En19 2004

Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics -- the old standby of basic physico-chemical properties of elements and, typically, simple molecules, now with searchable, interactive tables.

Smithell's Metals Reference Book -- Brief data and explanations covering all areas of metallurgy.  Also in Engineering Library Reference:  669.00212 Sm68 2004

CRC materials science and engineering handbook-- also available in Engineering Library Reference: 620.11 C8595 2001

ASM Information Online -- Includes the ASM Handbook, Alloy Digest, and ASM Desk References.  Comprehensive encyclopedia of all areas of materials science as well as a source of data.  Browseable by topic or searchable by specific materials.

Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database -- creates interactive graphs, or displays raw data, for a variety of materials over large temperature ranges. 

NIST/TRC Web Thermophysical Tables  -- comprehensive database of primarily pure organic compounds, Also available in Engineering Library Reference  547.2 R73seL; 541.3690212 T312s

ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center -- Choose up to three elements to retrieve published phase diagrams for that alloy

Finding Journals

Compendex/INSPEC -- Search both at once!  Comprehensive databases of engineering and physics, covering the literature since the 1880's.

Materials Research Database with METADEX -- A compilation of specialized materials databases, including: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Copper Data Center, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineering Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, WELDASEARCH, and World Ceramics Abstracts (each database can be searched separately)

SciFinder Scholar -- Chemistry database, covering literature since 1907. 

Web of Science -- Database of the major peer-reviewed journals in all subject areas, covering literature since 1900.  Allows you to track citations between papers forward and backward in time.

Datasheets

 

ILI Metals/Materials InfoBase -- collection of manufacturer datasheets. Includes composition and some basic mechanical properties (similar to Alloy Digest).  Links to suppliers and governing standards. 

MatWeb -- Search engine with free and fee-based (which Purdue does not subscribe to) materials information.  Over 60,000 materials data sheets, including many commercial products.  Especially strong in polymer properties.

eFunda  -- Compilation of materials properties as well as common information for the practicing engineer.  Contains links to suppliers as well.  Free resource, althought they sell a fee-based service.

ASM Information -- Alloy Center contains Data Sheets and Diagrams