CHEM - Organic Synthesis Information Resources - Important Reviews and Treatises



Important Reviews and Treatises

These resources contain lengthier essays on various type of reactions or transformations and often provide numerous references to the original article where the research was reported.

Advanced Organic Chemistry - Part B: Reactions and Synthesis. 5th ed. F.A. Carey and R.J. Sundberg. 2007
(Online or CHEM Reserves 547 C188a 2007)
This text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed.

Comprehensive Organic Synthesis. 1991. 9 vols.
(Online or CHEM Ref 547.2 C738 1991)

Organic Syntheses. 1921- . 85 vols.
(Online or CHEM Ref 547 Or1 [vol. 73-84]; CHEM 547 Or1 [vol. 29-72]; HIKS Repository 547 Or1 [vol. 1-28])
Tested "recipes" by experts in the field. Includes key classes of transformations and name reactions. Often there is enough detail to recreate the synthesis from the information given.

Organic Reactions. 1942- .
(CHEM Ref 547 Or3 [vol. 41-59, 61-71]; CHEM 547 Or3 [vol. 1-41])
This series contains longer critical review essays on widely used organic reactions, including name reactions. Each chapter on a given preparation provides detailed procedures for each method, along with key examples and a bibliography.

Organic Reaction Mechanisms (CHEM 547.005 Or3 [1980-1989,1991-2004]; HIKS Repository 547.005 Or3 [1965-1979])
Annual reviews of the literature where sections are organized by broad reaction type with subsections.  Lags in publication. (2004 was just recently published.) More detailed descriptions of the reactions. Excludes reaction topics in electrochemistry, photochemistry, organometallics, surface chemistry, and heterogeneous catalysis. Has subject index and author index.

Methoden der Organischen Chemie. 4th ed. ("Houben-Weyl") 1952- . 16 vols and supplements. (CHEM Ref 547 H81m4)
Note: This work, commonly known as "Houben-Weyl", is in German; however, because of its comprehensive coverage, it is worth consulting when you are looking for synthetic methods.

Stereoselective Synthesis. 1996. 10 vols. (from Houben-Weyl) (CHEM Ref 547 H81m4)
Note: This comprehensive coverage of the important topic of stereoselective synthetic methods is an extension of Houben-Weyl, but is (happily) in English.


Other "Comprehensive" Works

Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry. 1959- . v.1-17, v.19-41, v.43-52
(Chem Ref 543.082 W69c)

Comprehensive Asymmetric Catalysis. 1999, 2004. 3 vols. 2 supplements
(Chem 541.395 C738 1999 / Chem 541.395 C738 2004 Suppl.)

Comprehensive Biological Catalysis. 1998 4 vols.
(Chem Ref 572.7 C738 1998)

Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry. 1987. 7 vols.
(Chem Ref 541.2242 C738)
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II. 2004. 10 vols.
(Chem Ref 541.2242 C738 2004)

Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry. 1984. 8 vols.
(Chem Ref 547.59 C738)
Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry II. 1996. 11 vols.
(Chem Ref 547.59 C7382 1996)

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry. 1973. 5 vols.
(Chem Ref 546 C738)

Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry. 1990. 6 vols.
(PNHS 615.19 C738 1990)
Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II. 2007. 8 vols.
(PNHS Ref 615.19 C738 2007)

Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry. 1999. 9 vols.
(PNHS Ref 547.7 C7375 1999)

Comprehensive Organic Chemistry. 1979. 6 vols.
(Chem Ref 547 C738)

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry. 1982. 9 vols.
(Chem 547.05 C738)
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry II
. 1995. 14 vols.
(Chem Ref 547.05 C7381 1995)

Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
.  2007.  13 vols.
(Chem Ref 547.05 C7381 1995)

Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry. 1996. 11 vols.
(Chem Ref 547.05 C738 1996)