Women's Studies - Selected Purdue Libraries Databases



Meet Your Librarian

Your librarian is Kristine Anderson. Contact her with any questions or requests.

Primary Databases

Since Women's Studies ranges across all disciplines, almost any database in any field will yield a substantial number of citations dealing with women in relation to the main topic of the database. The following two Purdue databases are devoted exclusively to Women's Studies, however:

  • Women and Social Movements in the U.S: 1600-2000. Books, letters, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies documenting American women's reform activities from the colonial period into the 20 th century.
  • Women's Studies International. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Sources indexed include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses and dissertations.
Other Databases

The following subject-focused or general databases are also useful in women's studies:

  • AccessUN. Provides access to United Nations publications.
  • Ageline. A bibliographic database in social gerontology produced by the American Association for Retired Persons.
  • America: History and Life. Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the history of what is now the United States and Canada. Coverage is worldwide but all abstracts are in English.
  • Archives Finder. Provides bibliographic records on primary source materials from manuscript repositories in the U.S.
  • Contemporary Authors. A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, journalism, poetry, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
  • Family and Society Studies Worldwide . Provides abstracts and bibliographic records for articles from professional journals and popular literature, books, conference papers, government reports and other sources in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development and Social Welfare.
  • Francis (International Humanities and Social Studies). Indexes and abstracts a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the Humanities and Social Sciences including journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials and reports.
  • Historical Abstracts. Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the history of the world excluding the U.S. and Canada. Provides cover-to-cover indexing for key international English language periodicals in the Social Sciences and Humanities. Searches can be narrowed to specific subject fields within those broad areas.
  • Sociological Abstracts. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers from the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Provides abstracts of journal articles and other sources in political science and related fields.