Library Undergraduate Student Worker Scholarships & Awards

PULSE (Purdue University Libraries' Student Employee) Award, McCaw and Viton Scholarships

The Purdue University Libraries and School of Information Studies, Press, Copyright, and Office of Undergraduate Research values its student workers. Therefore, these scholarships and awards are a way to recognize some of these many dedicated individuals. The Dr. Albert Viton Scholarship and the Dorothy Newby McCaw Scholarship are merit-based scholarships that have been made possible by two generous donors. The amount of each scholarship is $3,000 for the 2022-2023 academic year. The PULSE Award (Purdue University Libraries Student Employee Award) is an endowed fund started and funded primarily by the faculty and staff of Purdue Libraries. Each year, one or more awards are given for the top student workers in the Purdue Libraries. PULSE Awards are $1,000 each.

All qualifications can be found here but are also broken down below.

Both scholarships and the PULSE Award share the following qualifications (you must meet all of these criteria to apply):

  • Full-time student with extracurricular activities
  • Strong academic performance
  • In good standing with the University
  • Positive work ethic
  • Libraries hourly student worker, undergraduate students preferred
  • Outstanding service to the Purdue Libraries

The Albert Viton and Dorothy Newby McCaw Scholarships share the following additional qualifications:

  • Applicant must be at least a junior at the time of applying.
  • Students selected for the McCaw or the Viton Scholarships, intend to continue
  • working for Purdue Libraries during the 2022-2023 academic year. Therefore, graduating seniors or those who will graduate in December 2022 may apply only for the PULSE Awards.
  • If selected for a scholarship, you are encouraged to express your thanks in writing to the donor. Information will be provided after the selection is made.

The PULSE Awards and the McCaw Scholarship share the following additional qualifications:

  • Employed by Purdue Libraries for a minimum of two complete semesters (these do not need to be consecutive) not including the current semester. To qualify for a summer semester, a student worker must work 2 of the 3 summer sessions.

The Albert Viton Scholarship has the following additional criterion:

  • Preference is given to a University Press student worker. Other Purdue Libraries student workers may be selected in the event there are no eligible applicants from the University Press.

Students who have previously received a scholarship or the PULSE award are eligible to apply again. To apply for any of these scholarships/awards, please complete an application form and ask your supervisor to complete a recommendation form. For more help with applications please consider the Purdue Writing Lab. Please direct any questions to Ashley Fawcett.


Students must apply by Wednesday, February 9, 2022. Student supervisors must submit their recommendation form by Wednesday, February 16, 2022. Students are responsible for asking their supervisor to submit the recommendation form.