Open Access @ Purdue

Leadership in Open Access Awards

Purdue University Libraries began recognizing on-campus champions of open access with the Leadership in Open Access awards beginning in 2010. Since that time there have been some variations to include specifically education-focused or graduate student specific awards. Below is a historic list of those who have been recognized for their tremendous efforts in championing open access research.


2023 - Dr. Kari Clase, professor in the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, and director of the Biotechnology Innovation and Regulatory Science (BIRS) Center

2022 - Dr. Harry Denny, Professor of English and Director of the Writing Lab and Dr. Yung-Hsiang Lu, Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

2021 - Dr. Kristina Bross, Associate Dean for Research and Creative Endeavors.

2020 - Nicholas K. Rauh, Purdue University Professor in the College of Liberal Arts, School of Languages and Cultures.

2019 - Wayne Wright, Purdue University College of Education Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs, and Faculty Development and Professor and Barbara I. Cook Chair of Literacy and Language.

2018 - Gary Bertoline, Dean of the Purdue Polytechnic Institute, and the LON-CAPA implementation team, including David Huckleberry, coordinator of digital instruction, Purdue Department of Physics and Astronomy; and five continuing lecturers with Purdue Department of Mathematics, including: Owen Davis, Huimei Delgado, David Norris, Patrick Devlin, and Timothy Delworth.

2017 - Suresh Garimella, executive vice president for research and partnerships and the R. Eugene and Susie Goodson Distinguished Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering.

2016 - No award was given.

2015 - No award was given.

2014 - Purdue University Department of Psychological Sciences, College of Health and Human Sciences, led by department head Christopher Agnew.

2013 - Mark S. Lundstrom, Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and founding director of the Network for Computational Nanotechnology (NanoHUB).

2013 - (Open Access Education Award) - Linda S. Bergman, director of the Online Writing Lab.

2012 - Darcy Bullock, Lyles Family Professor of Civil Engineering and Director of the Joint Transportation Research Program.

2012 - (Graduate Student Award in Open Access) - Mel Chua, Engineering Education.

2011 - Ian Bell, Herrick Laboratories, Purdue University

2010 - Purdue University School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering, led by school head Ragu Balakrishnan.